Mini Apple Pies

by sarahgrand

Last summer, my friend and I decided to make mini apple pies for my sister’s engagement party. Mini pies are not only cuter than their normal-sized counterparts, but they are also more convenient–no mess involved in cutting up slices! We used my friend’s recipe for the filling and store-bought dough for the crust. We rolled out the dough and cut two circles for each mini pie, one bigger than the other. We put the bigger circles in the bottoms of a greased muffin tin, so that edges of the circles came just over the top of the pan. We filled the crusts with the apples and sealed each pie closed with the smaller circles. After coating the crusts with egg wash and cutting little holes in the top, we put the mini pies in the oven to bake. Sorry I don’t have any pictures showing the process of how we constructed the pies (We made these last summer before I started this blog, so I didn’t think to take pictures until they were done!) We never really used a set recipe–we kind of just went with our intuition for the thickness of the crust, how much filling to use, etc.–but if you want more detailed instructions, I found this recipe online that’s pretty much the same thing and really helpful:

I never realized how easy to is to make any dessert mini. As obvious as it sounds, just do everything exactly the same, but on a smaller scale. For the mini pies we just had to use a muffin tin instead of a normal-sized pan and for my mini layer cakes I just had to use a circular cookie cutter to get the cake layers.

Here’s the finished product:

We had some leftover filling after we made the mini pies, so I went out and bought some more crust and made a normal sized pie a few days later. Here’s a slice of the normal sized pie à la mode:

Have a nice afternoon!

