Christmas in July

by sarahgrand

Around this time of year, I start to miss the winter–bundling up near the fireplace, baking cookies with christmas music on in the background, driving around to see the lights on neighborhood houses–I just miss that overall feeling of “holiday cheer.” Today I’ve put together some photos of my favorite holiday cupcakes. I came up with the wreath brownie cupcake, and my sister made the rudolph vanilla cupcakes.

I plan to do a post on brownie cupcakes in the near future, but for anyone wondering, a “brownie cupcake” is simply a brownie in cupcake form. Just pour brownie mix into cupcake liners in a muffin tin. I really like this idea because when I bake brownies in a pan, they usually get all crumbly and messed up when I try to cut them into squares. I’m a perfectionist, so I don’t like when that happens! With brownie cupcakes, there is no mess, plus they’re really cute. My only warning about brownie cupcakes is that they take less time to bake than brownies in a pan, so they can get dried out if you don’t keep checking on them in the oven.

Here’s the wreath brownie cupcake I came up with:

And here are the rudolph vanilla cupcakes my sister made. I’m not sure if she came up with this idea herself or if she found it online. She used chocolate frosting, vanilla wafers, pretzels, mini marshmallows, and red M&Ms.

Merry Christmas in July!

